Loose Juice Label!

Finally, I think I am satisfied with it.
I spent more time on the details( I can be sometimes).

I got a wake up call from the review of my first assignment.(I will make ammends) So I decided to kick it up a notch.

Adobe illuctrator! After watching the tutorials, I tried as much as I could to implement it into this label. I must say, I had to go back to the tutorials for references and guides. It took a lot of time. I had learnt so much from the tutorial that I forgot which tool to use at times. I was having a lot of conflicts with what I was used to and that made it more difficult.

During the building process, I decided to use elements of my scamps that I think best can be easily illustrated.

Process:

I scanned my scamps and traced elements that I liked. Fine tuned my lines with the tools in Adobe illustrator.

Tools:

Line segment tool, Shape builder tool, Reflect tool, Gradient tool, Selection tool, Eyedropper tool & Type tool.

I also made a pattern and applied Overlay transparency blending mode.

Presentation:

I saved the final illustration as jpeg transfered it to Photoshop and blended it with juice packaging images I downloaded from google.( A bottle and a tetrapak).
I hope you like them.

Conclusion:

I had fun making the label. I also realized that I need to do some more practicing and get used to illustrator. I wasted a lot of time making this label and will like to spend one tenth of the time spent it.

8 comments on “Loose Juice Label!

  1. Helle says:

    wow! I really like ur fruit πŸ˜€ I think thats one of the best fruits ive seen in this activity. I also like how u put all the label together, but I think that I have to go with the one that have less detail in. The one that u wasnt happy with first? Sometimes the easy simple thing is the best thing, Like they say in norwegian “det enkle er ofte det beste” But Really good work in this, I see that u have done alot of effort in this task, really good! And I like that u have put up your progress in this task, its nice to see how people work and develope things πŸ™‚

    • ikegbus says:

      I may have gone a bit over board here but I was kind of familiarizing myself with illustrator. It was frustrating for me to find out that some of the tools dont have the same functions with Photoshop. It took so much of my time infact. Im glad you appreciate it. I feel I still have a lot to learn. I like simple designs as well(Apple product style) but I had in mind a label that should draw attention of the consumer. Kind of like target marketing.

  2. megame73 says:

    Definitely a bit colorful for me but you presented it like a finished product πŸ™‚ with every detail.

    • ikegbus says:

      Thanks, I still see it as a learning process. It was a struggle and I kept going at it cos I was trying to master the tools in illustrator. I found out that they tools are similar with photoshop but it also has a lot that is not. Kind of like having its own different language.
      Thanks for the comment though. We are learning afterall.

  3. Kristine says:

    Hi, I think it looks good:-) Very fruity colors, it looks fresh! Your fruit looks very detailed and nice, I can see you have worked very much with this label:-) And it fits for juice! You could clean it a bit up, because it has a lot of things going on, and a clean up may give it a stronger appeal in a store;-)

    • ikegbus says:

      Thanks, point taken. I may have gone a bit overboard with it.(It was an experiment as well). Better have more than less (sometimes). In a store shelf filled with other juice products, I think it should be able to hold its own.

  4. hassansow says:

    I really liked your label! Specially the way you drew your banana and orange. And great work with the gradients. The only thing i would have modified, would have been the 3d effect on the loose juice. I would have possibly even changed the font.

    • ikegbus says:

      Hmm, yeah, I guess I ran out of time on that one. The effect on the name(Loose Juice) was just a gradient effect that gave it the 3D look. Im still new to illustrator. Its a learning process and Im eager to learn.

Leave a comment